Through A Glass Darkly: Epilogue

I am premiering this “Epilogue” for Through A Glass Darkly today in New York at Flux Factory.

Here is an excerpt from the script:

“In my short film, Through A Glass Darkly, I steer the focus away from the narrative, away from the explosions and violence, away from the masculine overload, and towards the serene landscapes where hollywood produces its fictional wars.

Through A Glass Darkly is a remix of landscapes from popular films that depict conflict. The chronological compilation relies on the influence of cinema to access a collective memory of images of war. While peaceful, they are frightening moments in their original context, used to contrast tranquility with chaos, beauty with destruction, and property with the actions that attempt its acquisition. Seen in this form, they remind the viewer that war is violent and chaotic while questioning the idea that conflict is a means to an harmonious end.”

VideoChannel Cologne – Found Footage!

FFF – Found Footage Film collection
curated by Wilfried Agricola de Cologne

“Found footage is a filmmaking term which describes a method of compiling films partly or entirely of footage which has not been created
by the filmmaker, and changing its meaning by placing it in a new context. The term refers to the “found object” (objet trouvé) of art history.”

VAD – Video Art Database
VideoChannel Cologne – Found Footage!

Listed artists/directors:

Agricola de Cologne (Germany)
Borja Alexandre (Spain)
Michael Brynntrup (Germany)
Jon Keith Brunelle (USA)
Maria Canas (Spain)
Larry Caveney (USA)
Sebastian Clej (Romania)
John Criscitello (USA)
Dr. Boston (USA)
Bill Domokos (USA)
Angie Eng (USA)
Clint Enns (Canada)
Enrique Freaza (Spain)
Rajorshi Ghosh (USA)
Doron Golan (Israel)
Juan David Gonzalez Monroy (Colombia)
Grace Graupe-Pillard (USA)
Constantin Hartenstein (Germany)
Denise Hood (USA)
Leslie Huppert (Germany)
Andrea Huyoff (Germany)
Katrina Inagaki (USA)
Jeremiah Jones (USA)
Ellen Lake (USA)
Irad Lee (Israel)
Fumiko Matsuyama (Japan)
Alistair McClymont (UK)
Davor Sanvicenti (Croatia)
Alexander Mouton (USA)
Owen Mundy (USA)
Toban Nicols (USA)
Jonas Nilsson (SWE)
Jun Ho Oh (South Korea)
Renata Padovan (Brazil)
Lobo Pasolini (Brazil)
Johanna Reich (Germany)
Joao Ricardo (Portugal)
Jasper Rigole (Belgium)
Joshua Rosenstock (USA)
Benjamin Rosenthal (USA)
Anthony Rousseau (France)
Benjamin Schultz-Figueroa (USA)
Jennifer Schwed (USA)
Ran Slavin (Israel)
Dennis Summers (USA)
Sonja Vuk (Croatia)
Philip Widmann (Germany)
James Woodward (USA)
Andreas Zingerle (Austria)